User Management
As a Client Admin, you can add, edit, and manage user accounts and their platform access.
Key areas of the user profile
- Overview - The basic user profile information, such as personal details, location, and ID.
- Group - Will display the group that the user has been assigned to. It will be highlighted in blue.
-
Admin - Full platform access. Can view and edit all current and future engagements, manage scanners, integrations, agents, and credentials, and create or modify users.
-
Global Read - Read-only access to all current and future engagements. Cannot create, edit, or delete engagement content.
-
Global Read / Write - Full access to view and edit all current and future engagements. Does not include user management or platform administration.
-
Custom - Granular control over existing engagement access. No user management capabilities.
-
- Engagements - Will display the types of engagements that the user has access to and at what level of permission based on the group assignment.
- Orchestration - Will list the scanners, integrations, and agents the user is able to add and modify. The user must be a member of the Admin group.
- MFA - Used to manage a user's multi-factor authentication – either to require use of an MFA or not at each login.
- API - Allows users to create and manage API tokens. Use these tokens to synchronize vulnerability and asset data between the NetSPI Platform and external tools or workflows, eliminating manual exports.
Open a User Profile
To open a user profile, click Settings > Admin > User Management > search for the user and click on the user's row.
Use Search or Filter to quickly locate a specific user in your organization, or filter by first name, last name, or email.
Add a User
To add a new user, follow these steps:
- Click Add User.
- Enter the Personal Information for the user, and then click Next.
- Move the slider for Multi-Factor Authentication to require the user to verify their identity with MFA at each login.
- Select the Group that the user should be a member of, and then click Next.
-
If Group: Admin, Global Read or Global Read/Write was selected, then you will skip ahead to the Review stage after clicking Next.
-
If Group: Custom was selected, then you will also select the Engagements and Permissions after clicking Next.
-
- Select the Engagements the user should have access to if the Custom group was selected, and then click Next.
- Select the Engagement Permissions to grant the user if the Custom group was selected, and then click Next.
- Review the user details, and then click Create User.
Edit a User
To open a user profile, click Settings > Admin > User Management > search for the user and click on the user's row.
Edits save automatically.
Change Group
Use the Group tab to update a user's group assignment. The user's current group is highlighted in blue, so you can quickly confirm the existing setting before making a change.
- Select the user whose group assignment you want to update.
- Click the Group tab.
- Select the new group for the user.
- Click Confirm to save the change.
Changing a user's group may affect any engagements the user was actively working on when the change is made.
Change Engagements
To make granular changes to engagements, the user must be a member of the Custom group.
-
From the user's profile page, click the Engagements tab.
-
You can select to show a user's current Access, No Access, or All. Use Search to find a specific engagement in the list.
-
Changes save automatically.
Selecting Write will automatically select Read permissions for an engagement.